Five Minute Friday: Try

Honestly, I wasn’t even going to “do” Five Minute Friday this week because I just wasn’t feeling the word TRY.  But then I got to thinking about how often I encourage others to try to do something. Just the other day, I told my oldest son, “You’ll never know until you try.”  In less than a week, I’ll be encouraging my new students to try to do something new in the classroom. How many times as adults do we give up, that we don’t put forth that effort needed to find out whether or not we will actually be successful?

I thought to myself, “If I don’t even attempt to write about this prompt because I’m “not feeling it,” then what example is that to my children and to others?”

So, why would I even admit this to you in a Five Minute Friday prompt?  Because as a Christian, it is my duty to admit my struggles to you.  I’ve found that when we share our struggles and hardships and then show how God worked through them, we encourage others.  We lead them closer to Him.

I didn’t want to cook on the grill the other night, but I tried anyway. I burnt up the chicken legs in less than two minutes.

I was nervous about contacting the KBC about writing for their blog, but I did anyway. I posted my first article with them today.

Sometimes things will work out and sometimes they won’t, but we will never know unless we try.

I encourage you to lay aside your fears and your doubts, lift up your voice in prayer, and try whatever God is leading you to do.

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Try

  1. thegoodnewshq says:

    Congrats on your blog post on the KBC’s blog! And good on you for continuing to try in all new things 🙂 This is actually my first time trying the FMF myself, so I’m all about trying new things. Now, onto the next new thing 😀

    Like

  2. BethanyH says:

    What a beautiful reflection on our life as a Christian and the necessity of sharing our struggles with each other. Thanks for “trying” this post today, it surely spoke to me! Your FMF neighbor #55

    Like

Leave a Reply

