Five Minute Friday: Collect

I have a huge collection of Barbie Dolls.  When my husband and I first married, we were like big kids.  We would spend a Saturday going to every flea market, Wal-Mart, K-Mart, and any other toy store we could find.  Our goal: to find items to add to our collections. For me, it was Barbie, and for him, it was NASCAR. I dare to say how much money we spent on our quests, but we did have lots of fun.

 

Now, those collections are sitting in boxes. My dolls are in my mom’s upstairs storage, and all that NASCAR stuff…..well, let’s just say that after having children (all boys), many of them have gotten opened over the years.  But my collection of Barbie dolls isn’t doing anyone any good.

 

I thought that maybe I’d have a daughter one day to play with them, yet God blessed me as a boymom.  I thought maybe I could then sell them.  Yet, they still sit in boxes.

 

I thought I’d……

 

Isn’t that the way it goes with our plans?  We collect and hoard and stock up the bank account, yet we never do anything with it.  We put off because we think something better will come up.

 

newfmf

I pray that this weekend, you ask yourself what it is you are collecting, what you’re holding on to and if it is doing anyone any good.  Life’s too short to just keep holding on. Friend, don’t hold on to that grudge. Don’t hold on to that fear. Don’t hold out for a rainy day.  Don’t delay on living your life to the fullest.  We aren’t promised tomorrow.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Collect

  1. Jennifer Smith says:

    Thought provoking – I think we all “something” we are holding onto….for the rainy day, or just right season, or the perfect time and place. Today is the day to take those dreams/goals/plans out of the box…and to begin enjoying them. Thanks for the reminder.

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

