Five Minute Friday: Future

When I held you as a baby, I wondered what the future held for you.  What you would become? What would you do during your lifetime?

Would you be a beach bum?

 beachbum

Would you be an international spy?

undercover

Would you be a lawmaker?

lawmaker

Would you be a scientist?

scientist

I quickly realized that it didn’t matter.  It didn’t matter what type of work you did, whether you were a straight A student, a rock star, or a professional fisherman. It didn’t matter if you got the championship trophy or the game ball or pumped gas at the gas station.

 

In my heart, all that mattered would be that you would love Jesus.

In Him, you have a future.

Boys, worship Him creatively, true to your heart.

198

Serve Him courageously, even if it isn’t the cool or popular thing to do.

chef

I’ll always remember the time you taught VBS.

vbs

I’ll always remember the time you read the Christmas story to the small children.

reading

I’ll always remember the time you sang for Jesus, led the worship service at church, and said the prayer at your 8th grade promotion.

Those are the things that matter.  My mama heart wants you to find your future in Christ.  When you do, you’ll have faith that can move mountains. My prayer is that you will be men of God, making this world a better place for Him.  mountains

swirl

Thank you for joining me for my first edition of Five Minute Friday in quite a while.  With summer being here, I hope to be participating a lot more.  Feel free to snoop around the blog.  I’d love to hear your feedback.

What is Five Minute Friday?  It’s a wonderful community of writers who take the one word prompt and write for five minutes flat.  Then we visit one another’s blogs to connect, encourage, and be encouraged.

I know what you’re thinking, “Girl, you’ve used a lot of pictures. I know this took more than five minutes.”  Technically, yes. However, when I first saw the word, my mind went back to an old post I did years ago on my old blog.  I started hunting pictures, downloaded them, and then set my timer to five minutes.  Took about 20 minutes to find the pictures, but I did write for only 5 minutes.

In case you haven’t heard the news, Five Minute Friday has moved to its own site.  It’s simply beautiful, so be sure to check it out and share the love.

fmfbadge

 

Definitely visit today’s link up at the new FMF site because my dear friend Kate is having a couple of giveaways PLUS has designed some pretty cool merchandise.

 

Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Future

  1. Lesley says:

    I loved your post and it was definitely worth the extra time to find the pictures- they really added to it! So true that knowing Jesus and the future hope we have in him is what really matters more than anything else! Visiting from FMF#25.

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    So happy to meet you through FMF! I’m glad you left a comment at my post. It is the greatest joy when we see our children growing in faith. I enjoyed the picture story of your son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

