52 Books in 52 Weeks: Books 9-12

I am continuing my journey to read 52 Books in 52 Weeks.  In the past few months, I’ve been able to add four books to my reading list.

 

Book 9 is The Scorch Trials, the second book of the Maze Runner series. My 11 year old has read the entire series and absolutely loved it.  He recommended I read the first book, and so I did.  Needless to say, this second book goes under the category of “a book I didn’t want to admit I was dying to read” from Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Reading Challenge. I guess at this point I can admit I want to read the rest of the series.

scorch

 

The remaining books all fit in categories from the Popsugar 2017 Reading Challenge.

 

For “a novel set during wartime,” I chose The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.  I LOVE this book, and it was a great experience reading it with my fifth grade reading classes.  They would beg for more instead of having skills time.  And when the book was over…..oh my! They lost it.  Now, if I could only get my son to read it.

boy in striped pajamas

 

For a read aloud at school this year, I once again read Because of Mr. Terupt. This book fits the category of “a book with a title that’s a character’s name.” Yes, this has been a part of my reading challenge for the last couple of years, but it’s too good to pass up.

terupt

 

This school year, our school participated in One Book One School.  The One and Only Ivan was the book that was read by our entire student body.  Because my students read the book during science class, I missed out on it.  Thankfully I was able to read it and put it under the category of “a book from a nonhuman perspective.”  It is also the first book I’ve completed for my summer reading.

ivan

 

Now, I will begin book 13 by Jason Ladd.  I’ll tell you more about it when I finish.  I’ve also got two more books stashed away to read before I watch the movies.  After that, I may get started on the 3rd book of the Maze Runner series.

 

What are your summer reading plans?  Got any good books you want to share with us?

 

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

