Letters from Students

In honor of Teacher Appreciation Week, I’m going to be sharing some of my favorite “teacher” posts from my old blog.

 

One of my favorite things about being a teacher is getting letters from my students.   Some letters make me laugh and some make me cry.  I’ve been told I’m pushy (which was actually a good thing), and I’ve had students apologize for being a jerk (their words not mine).  Sometimes the letters are lengthy, and sometimes they are quick notes taped to my desk.  Either way, I love hearing what my students have to say.

 

Here’s a letter I received in 2012 from a student about to move on to the middle school.

 

Hi. I miss you so much!  I’m writing to tell you what an awesome, fun, and amazing teacher you are. I’m also going to have to tell you goodbye for the last time because I am going to middle school next year. 

I’m going to start out by telling you how much I learned from you. I learned to turn everything bad into something good. I have made so many friends by always being in a good mood even when I’m not having a good day. You taught me so many academic things, in a way that none of my teachers have done (no offense Mrs. Winston, Mrs. Tucker, and Ms. Goodlad).

This may sound a little cheesy, but every time I see you it puts me in a good mood. Everyday I purposely walk by you to go to the library, and believe me, it would have saved a lot of energy the other way. Its worth it though. Even when I’m in a bad mood, you make me happy. You are the best teacher I’ve ever had.

Well, this isn’t the last time I’ll talk to you, but I hope you keep this and remember me for a long time. Oh, yeah, if you are still teaching when I’m out of high school, I’ll come visit you. So, goodbye. I’ll miss you next year.

Sincerely,
Cheyenne

 

Cheyenne has remained a very special person to me.  I’ve loved having her family visit our church, and I’ve enjoyed seeing her out and about.  The last time I saw her, I almost didn’t recognize her.  I’ll always cherish these words.

 

 

Leave a Reply

