Life Goals for Kids

Ever since I was a little girl, I dreamed of what it would be like to have a family.  I always said I wanted 3 kids: 2 boys and a girl.  Well, I have my 3 children and because they are all boys, I’m an official Boymom.  With a teenager, an 11 year old, and a 7 year old who thinks he is grown, I’m quite busy and quite exhausted most of the time.  I’m also far from being a perfect mom. That’s why I own books such as Triggers,  Am I Messing Up My Kids?, and Upside Down Prayers for Parents. Being the best mom I can be for my children is a top priority.

 

With that being said, my children get quite angry with me at times.  At my house, door slamming, stomping, loud voices, and low grumbling can frequently be heard. My kids are pretty well taken care of, but they don’t always get what they want.  In fact, my 7 year old hates that I always make him eat “ba-sketti.” I’m not the mom that allows my kids to do every single thing they want to do or purchase for them every single thing they think they can’t live without.  Their daddy and I work hard to provide for them, yet we make them work a little bit too.

 

But y’all, there’s more on my mind tonight than possessions.  I have a question for you: What are you pushing your children to?  What are you making their life goals?

 

Just last night, we attended an FFA banquet for my oldest son. I’ve always encouraged my children to get involved in many activities.  I want them to be well-rounded and knowledgeable.  I want them to be comfortable with all people. Therefore, my children are involved in both sports and academics, and they are involved in other activities at church. I love watching my boys on the ball field. I love hearing their names called for an academic team or robotics award.  I love seeing them excel in something they love.

 

Yet, I know there is more to life for them.  I want to push them to be successful in all they do, to be proud of themselves, to have a strong work ethic.  But the most important thing, the thing I want the most….I want them to be intimate with Jesus. I want them to surrender their lives to Him. I want them to live a life that brings honor and glory to God.

 

So, as I am training them up in the way they should go, I’m showing them the path to God.  I’m encouraging them to be active in church. I help them to see that we don’t HAVE to go to church. We GET to go to church. There’s a difference.  I’m working with God to be a mom that shows them His light and His love.

 

My kids love cool stuff.  iPhones. Xbox. Legos. Bicycles. Golf clubs. Books. Power Rangers.  I love playing Uno and Rummy and Monopoly with them. We love trips to Starbucks, Red Lobster, and Toys R Us.

 

But even more than stuff….my kids are growing in their love for Jesus.  They love church. They love worship music.  We have great conversations about faith, Christ, and salvation.  They beg for just one more devotional each night. And all of that is what makes this Mama’s heart happy.  My children love Jesus and want more of Him.

 

So, consider this…..What are you guiding your children to?  Is it that particular clique at school?  Is it that travel ball team?  Are you buying the latest gadgets and clothes so they will fit in? Are you making groups and gadgets idols?

or

Are you guiding them toward Christ?  Are you attending church as a family? Are you devoted to prayer time and bible study?  Do you talk about your faith and tell them how God is working in your life?

 

Consider the path you are leading your children on….is it a path to salvation and righteousness through Jesus Christ or is a path of idolatry and entitlement? Are you teaching them to store up treasures in heaven or store up treasures ruined by moths and rust?

 

And then consider this……

 

Are you concerned with your child’s eternity?

 

Are you pushing the issues of big bank accounts and fast cars or are you showing them the path to eternal salvation?

 

How would it feel knowing that at the end of life, we did nothing to help our children know Jesus?  We can’t save them, but we can introduce them to the One who can.

 

Mom and Dad, very few children will grow up to be pop stars and professional ball players. Very few children will grow up to have their names on billboards. However, all of us can have our names in the Book of Life, and that is where we should desire our children’s names be found.

 

I pray for us…..parents everywhere….parents of small children and parents of adult children…..I pray that we lead by example, that we strengthen and grow in our relationship with Christ, so our children will desire a relationship with Him as well.  I pray that we can be role models for them instead of letting the world model for them what they should become. I pray that our children would be men and women of faith who sets their hearts desire on the will of God instead of the will of the world.

Leave a Reply

