God Convicts, Not Condemns

There’s this voice. It nags me and drags me down.  It tells me I’m a failure, that I’ve ruined my kids.  This voice tells me there is no hope, that I’ll never change, that my children will resent me for the rest of their lives.  You know the voice.  It is the voice of Satan filling our minds with his lies.  He has a plan, a plan to discourage us….a plan to damage our homes…..a plan to pull us further from Christ.

9

But there is another voice.  A still small voice that whispers, “Yes, you’ve messed up, but I will get you through this. Just lean on me.”

This voice encourages me, “Sweet child, I’m here. I’ll guide you through this.”

This voice lifts me up, “There is hope.  In Me, there is always hope.”

This voice declares, “There is a way. I am the way. Follow me, and I will strengthen you and your home.”

And that is the voice of God.

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
And the voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
And the voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

While Satan stands to condemn us for our sin, God our Father stands to convict us of our sin.  And in that conviction is a hope and path to redemption.

condemnation

Y’all, I could list for you all the times I’ve felt guilty of my anger. I could rewrite for you here my journal entries about my failure as a mother. But I won’t because guilt condemns us. Guilt traps us. Guilt does nothing for us.  But conviction!!!! Oh, conviction frees.

Every single one of you on this journey, you have been convicted of your sinful anger. That’s why you bought the book. That’s why you joined the Facebook group. That’s why you come here day after day to read my reflection.  Your conviction has told you, “God is for you! There’s hope and He is your hope.  He is your answer. Call on Him!”  And that’s what you’ve done. You’ve cried out to God and admitted your sinfulness to him and asked him to redeem you and restore the peace within your home.

And God our Refuge has met us right where we are.

By His Amazing Grace, The Voice of Truth has Redeemed us!

All my life I have been called unworthy
Named by the voice of my shame and regret
But when I hear You whisper, “Child lift up your head”
I remember, oh God, You’re not done with me yet

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, now I’m not who I used to be

There is hope for you sweet friend.

Restoration is coming to you and your family.

God is not done with you. He has a plan, yet he will not force himself on you.  Because our Lord loves us, he waits for us, longs for us, and then when we allow him, his will is fulfilled in us.

I don’t know what your specific trigger to sinful anger is.  I don’t know where you are on this journey. I do know that God’s conviction will lead you to righteous redemption.  Listen to him. Listen to his still small voice, and you will be changed.

One of the most amazing gifts God has given us is the gift of community.  Friend, I welcome you into my community. I am here for you.  Let me encourage you. Let me pray for you. Let’s not give up meeting together whether in real life or virtually.  Let us walk this motherhood journey together with our Lord and Savior.

I hesitate to say this is the end……This is the end of the book Triggers: Exchanging Parents Angry Reactions for Gentle Biblical Responses.  Yet, it is not the end of our journey together.  Let’s continue to pray for one another. Let’s continue to confide in one another.

For us, this is the beginning of redemption.

Leave a Reply

