The Straw that Broke the Camel’s Back

I am finishing up this study of Triggers.  Baseball season has started and practices are in full swing until games start in mid April.  My house is a wreck. I couldn’t even find my white cami this morning to wear under my baseball mom shirt. My kids were a bit lazy in getting ready for school.  The cat bit me because he didn’t realize I actually fed him.  One of my students is bound and determined to get kicked out of my class because he will get to go “hang out” in the office and eavesdrop on everything going on. These are all normal everyday things that happen, yet they can cause my stress level to rise.  Let’s pile on top of that a list of bills that need to be paid, a birthday party to plan, lesson plans to do, a child who is involved in some drama, and a child who doesn’t quite feel well and no one can figure it out. Those things can continue to add to the stress.  Then let’s say, another child drops his cup of chocolate milk and it splatters all over the floor and walls.  What’s a mama going to do???? More than likely, I would lose my cool. The spilled milk would be the straw that broke the camel’s back, or in this case, the last bit of stress that pulled the anger trigger.

As moms, and maybe more specifically, as Christians, we have trusted Christ to save our souls.  We’ve turned to him and trusted him with our eternal destination.  Yet, each day, we hold on to the little bitty daily annoyances and obstacles we encounter and don’t hand them over to him.  We allow them to build and collect and add unnecessary pressure to our lives. And then when something minor happens, we SNAP.  We become angry.  We make our children literally cry over spilled milk.

And then we wonder where God was in all of the mess.  We ask him why he didn’t lighten our load.  However, we have to consider this….Did we take it all to him in prayer?

13

I love the hymn What a Friend We Have in Jesus, and I think it is appropriate to insert some verses here….

What a Friend we have in Jesus,
  All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
  Everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
  O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
  Everything to God in prayer!

O! What a peace we so very often forfeit! What needless pain we bear! And why???? Because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.  Yes,  we trust Him with our eternal salvation, but we don’t trust him to save us daily from our sins and griefs.

Have we trials and temptations?
  Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged,
  Take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful
  Who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness,
  Take it to the Lord in prayer.

As the daily trials of life come at us, as we wallow in sorrow and weakness, we become discouraged. Yet, why do we not take it to the Lord in prayer?

Are we weak and heavy-laden,
  Cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge—
  Take it to the Lord in prayer;
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?
  Take it to the Lord in prayer;
In His arms He’ll take and shield thee,
  Thou wilt find a solace there.

We are weak with burdens. We carry these daily burdens, but our Friend, our Refuge, our Precious Savior wants to wrap his arms around us and give us peace and rest.

Oh, dear friend, how much more sweet would our homes be if we stopped when we first felt discouraged, overwhelmed, frightened, worried, and stressed and knelt at the at the cross, leaving our burdens there?!? Sweet friend, we are not failures as mothers when we ask for Christ to lead us, guide us, comfort us, and strengthen us.  We are not failures as mothers when we cry out to God, “Father, I’ve sinned. I’ve hurt the hearts of my children because I am so stressed out.  Please God! Please restore me and my family.”

come to me

We need to ask ourselves what has changed our focus.  We need to figure out where our eyes are fixed.  Are we focused on the cross or are we focused on our problems?

I want you to reflect on these song lyrics for a moment…..

The things of earth are dimming
In the light of Your glory and grace
I’ll set my sights upon Heaven
I’m fixing my eyes on You

You’re a lion full of power who forgot how to roar
You’re an eagle full of beauty but you can’t seem to soar
Will you return to the garden where you were first made whole
Will you turn to the one who can liberate your soul

Bring your tired
Bring your shame
Bring your guilt
Bring your pain
Don’t you know that’s not your name
You will always be much more to me
Everyday I wrestle with the voices
That keep telling me I’m not right
But that’s alright
Cause I hear a voice and he calls me redeemed
When others say I’ll never be enough
And greater is the One living inside of me
Than he who is living in the world

Are your eyes fixed on Christ or your problems?

Are you bringing him your pain and your problems?

Are you ruling your home with a heart of tyrant because you have forgotten that God can and will carry your burdens and bring you peace?

Leave a Reply

