Would Someone Please Pay Attention to Me????

If you are just joining in, I am reading the book Triggers: Exchanging Parents’ Angry Reactions for Gentle Biblical Responses.  For each chapter, I am posting my reflections from the daily reading. Please feel free to join in the conversation.

triggers

Chapter 8 – Ignoring Instruction

 

Unfortunately, I spend the most part of my day being ignored by either my children or someone else’s.  As a mom, my children ignore me when I ask them to help with something, especially chores around the house, more specifically matching socks.  As a teacher, I get ignored by children that I have asked to line up quietly so we won’t disturb others while in the hall or by children who will not copy a simple sentence from the board.  Either way, it is very frustrating…..having to repeat myself over and over and over and….well, you get the point.

 

I usually start out calm.  Then I get a little firmer in my request. Eventually, the yelling starts.  Honestly, there are some days that I feel like I’ve not had anything nice to say. I want to pout and say, “Y’all made me yell at you.”

 

And you know what?  I’ve even said, “You are teaching me that I have to yell at you to get you to do what I want.”  And that’s no fun. And from today’s reading, I’m reminded that yelling does not change behavior.  If it did, I would not be ignored, back-talked, disrespected, or disobeyed ever again by strong-willed children.

praying

I love these simple messages from Wendy in this chapter:

  • The power of a loud voice isn’t real power.
  • Power is in healthy, clear communication.
  • Good communication is a godly tool.
  • The real power is in Christ.

So simple, yet so true.

 

God is long suffering and full of grace. He has to be to put up with me.  How many times have I ignored Him?  Too many.  When I am feeling powerless against these little treasures, I must be long suffering and full of grace as well.  I need to communicate clearly and express my feelings in a calm manner. Maybe, just maybe, if I do this, then my child who has a difficult time expressing his feelings will become more confident in stating how he feels.

peace

Consider these questions:

  1. How do you usually handle being ignored?  Is there a particular instance that brings about the ignoring issue?
  2. What was something that really stuck with you from this chapter?
  3. Which scripture did you connect with the most?  Do you have another verse not mentioned in the chapter they would help us when we are dealing with the issue of ignoring instruction?

 

 

Leave a Reply

