Remember Who You Are

whining

I tell my students at school, “Remember who you are.”  It is their reminder that they are good kids, that they represent room 105.  I tell my own children at home, “Remember who you are.” It is their reminder of their identity as our children.

 

And in both cases, it is a reminder of their roots and what they’ve been taught.

 

However, sometimes I forget who I am.  I am a child of God. I’ve been forgiven, redeemed.  Belonging to Christ bears certain responsibilities.  One of those is to behave in a manner that is pleasing to Him, to live in a way that others see Christ in me. Sadly, I often fail.

effective-parenting

By nature, I am a reactor.  Just the other day, I reacted to something I read.  I should have paused and prayed about the situation. However, I didn’t. I reacted and began venting my frustrations to 3 different people.  Today, though, I am calm about it. It is no longer that big of a deal to me. And the sad thing…..I wasn’t surprised about what got me going, but I was surprised at my response because all the while, God was telling me to chill out and I ignored Him. I had to whine and complain.

 

I behaved like a child.

 

As a child of God, I am supposed to be patient. I am supposed to have self control. I am supposed to mind my tongue. I am supposed to behave rightly.  Yet, many times I don’t.

 

And I wonder where my children get it.

15

This chapter reminded me that children are the fruit of our parenting lives. When we model self control, when we mind our tongues, when we behave rightly, it turns into a generational gift.

 

I love that thought.

 

My Christ-like behavior is a gift that will be passed on from generation to generation.

 

Wow!  That is humbling and overwhelming.

 

When my children are wearing me down with their whining and complaining….

But Mama!

I don’t want to.

Why not?

But why?

But Mama!

When they are wearing me down, I need to pause and pray.  I need to remember who I am. I need to make a commitment NOT to correct them with my own inappropriate behavior.  I need to use scripture to build them up, not tear them down (I’ll admit that I have a told a certain child, “I think you need to read your bible so you will know how to act.”  Obviously, I needed to read mine too.) I need to act like a child of God.

rules

What resonated with you or challenged you the most from this chapter? I’d love to hear your thoughts on the 10:1 encouragement vs. criticism ratio.  How are you doing with that?

 

Also, do you find it easier to show hospitality, patience, kindness……to others than your own children?

Leave a Reply

