Mom, You Hypocrite!

I will admit it…..Chapter 5 was hard to read.

 

To think that I am the reason my children are so angry…..yes, that is a hard pill to swallow.

cleanse-yourself

I read over the list of ways we can create anger problems in our children, and these are the ones I marked:

  • unreasonable expectations
  • punishing in anger
  • lecturing/scolding (nagging)
  • not hearing them out
  • controlling/overprotecting
  • bad mood

 

I may have felt better had my personal list not been so long, but it is definitely eye opening.  And isn’t that what it needs to be?  I love how Luke 6:41-42 states it so plainly,

Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?  How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye.

 

I shouldn’t be trying to “fix” my children. I need to look closely at myself to see what behaviors they are imitating and why. As most of you know, this is my second time going through this study, and I am glad to say that there is hope!  Satan will try to condemn us, but God convicts us.  When I first began looking at myself and seeing that my children were imitating my behaviors (both toward me and toward one another), God began to change me.  While we are not perfect, I have noticed a change: Once I began being more gentle with my children, they hearts began to soften too.  This change is beautiful.

childrens-hearts

Like Amber , mentioned in the book, our children need feel safe, encouraged, justly treated, and loved unconditionally.  When we show we value them, their hearts soften toward us and others.

 

As we close this chapter, consider these questions:

  1. What challenged you the most from the daily reading?
  2. What from “The List” could be causing you to create hard hearts within your children?
  3. Which Bible verse from today’s reading resonates with you and why?

Leave a Reply

