Passionate

When I think of strong-willed, I think of extremely stubborn.  Maybe, just maybe, I need to change my thinking to passionate. That seems to be a little more positive. For my sake, I am choosing to look at this as my boys are passionate about their opinions.

 

I want to turn that into a good thing.

3

I love the reminder that strong-willed children become strong-willed adults.  Channeled correctly, this passion will be life saving trait.  I imagine my strong-willed children not giving in to peer pressure…..I won’t worry about them jumping off bridges with their friends.  Their decisions will be based on their own personal convictions, not what the world tells them to do.

 

In order to help lead my children on this path of righteous passion, I need to be sure that my words build  them up.  When their passion is wearing me down, I must help them channel it constructively.  And as I say that, Colossians 3:17 comes to mind: And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God  the Father through him. I should remind them that their passion is a gift, just as long as it brings honor and glory to God.  I think this would help them see that their current behavior does not honor Christ, yet they can choose to behave in a more appropriate way.

love-how-god-made-you

What are some things that stuck with you from this chapter?

 

How can you help redirect the energy of your strong-willed, passionate child?

 

 

Leave a Reply

