If They Would Just Do What I Say

Welcome to this online journey of the book Triggers: Exchanging Parent’s Angry Reactions for Gentle Biblical Responses.  Each day for the next 31 days, I will be sharing my thoughts about each chapter of this book.  I look forward to hearing your responses as well, so that we may grow closer to Christ and be the moms he has designed us to be.

triggers

 

How many times a day do you feel like you are getting on to your children because they disobeyed you?  Too numerous to count, I’m sure.

 

As I read Chapter 1 of Triggers, I thought about my own disobedience toward God and how I don’t always do what I’m told to do the first time I’m told to do it.  And how does He respond?  God is a god of patience, mercy, and grace.  He is my ultimate example.  I should be mom of patience, mercy, and grace.

 

When my children disobey, I need to consider why.  Are my expectations unrealistic?  Are my children unable to move from one task to another in a timely manner?  Do they completely understand what it is I am asking them to do?

10

More often than not, I react to my children’s disobedience by yelling at them:

HURRY UP!

I TOLD YOU TO……

IF YOU WOULD JUST DO WHAT I SAID THE FIRST TIME THEN…..

IF I HAVE TO TELL YOU AGAIN THEN……..

 

Does that list of reactions sound familiar?

 

If I stop to consider why my children disobeyed, I model obedience to Christ by being slow to anger.

 

So today, I ask you these questions:

  1. Are you living in obedience to God?
  2. What are the reasons you think your child disobeys you?
  3. How can you show patience and grace when your child disobeys?

 

Leave a Reply

