52 Books in 52 Weeks Update: Books 3-5

I’ve just finished reading my fifth book from my 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge.  Before I name the book, I’d like to tell you that I had some great conversations about how good this book was. It was recommended by a librarian, but I am placing it under the category of “a book with a cat on the cover” from the Popsugar Reading Challenge

crenshaw

Crenshaw melted my heart.  It portrays how quickly life can change and how children try so hard to be strong.  My heart broke completely in chapter 50.  Homelessness is such an issue, one bigger than we imagine, and affects more people we care to admit. Love, love, love this book.

 

I’ve also realized I haven’t named books 3 and 4. Oops!

Book 3 – a book about a difficult topic – is Mockingbird.

mockingbird

This was a reread from, well, I’ve lost track. I read this aloud every year to my students.  The topics covered are school violence and autism. It is a very touching story of a father and daughter searching for closure after a school shooting takes the life of the main characters brother.

My fourth book was from a genre I don’t normally read.  My middle son loved this book and really wanted me to read it.

16665127_1916603978585671_8774148739265543812_o

I have to say, I really enjoyed Maze Runner. It was well written and kept me in suspense.  I wanted to continue reading to find out what happened next.  I’m definitely going to work on the rest of the series.

How is your reading list shaping up?  I’d love to hear what you’ve read and would take suggestions for what I should read next.

Leave a Reply

