Use My Weakness

 

 

I used to take pride in the fact that I was independent.  I took care of my own needs, didn’t ask for help.  Even through college, I pushed through tough semesters to graduate early.

However, the older I’ve gotten, I’ve realized how important it is to admit I need help.  When I was pregnant with my first child, I squatted down at the grocery store.  My babe in the womb decided that was the time to get comfortable, and he wedged himself under my ribs.  I was stuck, couldn’t move.  Finally, after a moment of pretending to look at pickles on the bottom shelf (normal for a pregnant woman, right?), I got my bearings and got up.  Needless to say, I had to call for help getting groceries out of the car when I got home.

joyoflord

Each day is something else

child locked in the bathroom while the bath is running

electricity goes out in one part of the house when you come home from a trip

dog runs off

overwhelmed

the list can go on and on

 

But I’ve found that it is ok to ask for help. It is ok to admit, I’m weak and need the strength of others.

STOP

strength

 

Once in Sunday school class, we had a discussion about helping others. My friend Leslie said that she realized that when she denied others who had offered to help with something, she took away a blessing from them.

That always stuck with me.

The older I’ve gotten, the more I’ve relied on people, the more I’ve received blessings, and hopefully, the more I’ve been able to give blessings.

There are certain things in life that really show us our weaknesses….a sick child, a health scare, deployment, a miscarriage, career changes……..In those times that we find that life is going to happen and we have absolutely NO control whatsoever, we have to lean on others for strength.  In those times, we call out to God, and He will give us strength through His presence, His Word, or through the love those he has placed in our lives.

And God is always faithful.

He has never let me down.

When I realize my weakness, Satan tells me I’m pathetic, worthless, and a whole string of lies. But God….He holds me, comforts me, showers me with grace and mercy.

 

fmf-badge

Thank you for joining me for this week’s edition of Five Minute Friday.  If you’d like to join in, head on over to my friend Kate’s to link up.  You wont’ be sorry you did!

4 thoughts on “Use My Weakness

  1. Lesley says:

    I’ve always been independent and struggled to ask for help too. But we do need one another, and sometimes admitting our weakness and asking for help is the strong thing to do.

    Like

  2. Martha G. Brady says:

    thanks natasha:) i can identify with the desire to be independent! a few years i was sick and had too many things i couldn’t do on my own. i realized i needed to accept help that was offered. but i learned to do it and learned to get to know women in my church that i didn’t know very well. it turned into a blessing:)

    Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    Admitting weakness confronts pride. It runs contrary to human nature. In American culture, the struggle is even greater-“pull yourself up be your bootstraps”, “anything is possible if you work hard.” But God has made us to function in community. We become more aware of God’s character and the beauty of his creation when our lives are woven together. I, too, came to the realization that when we deny others the opportunity to help us, we are stifling their calling and missing a blessing. I had to laugh at your opening story as I attempted to change a tire when I was nine months pregnant. Fortunately, a wonderful man saw my attempt and helped me.

    Like

  4. Julia Putzke says:

    “But I’ve found that it is ok to ask for help. It is ok to admit, I’m weak and need the strength of others.”

    The second sentence of this really sticks out – to need the strength of others. That’s a really hard to do when you feel you should be on your own because you don’t want to be too needy. As in making idols and forgetting about Jesus. That’s a big fear for me.

    Taking a blessing away from those that offer to help and to be able to be a blessing to them. Really need to think ponder that.

    Thank you for sharing this. Visiting from fmf 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

