Got Prayer?

How is your prayer life?  Is it lacking or is it something the rest of us should desire?

I’ll admit that I don’t always pray like I should.  Why?  Well, let’s see…..

tired

busy

lazy

forgetful

That’s a pretty sorry list.  Yet, it’s a list we all make.  We make excuses for why we don’t pray.

“Well, I try to,but I usually fall asleep.”

“I had planned on praying, but between work and running the kids all over town, I just never found the time.”

“By the time I sat down today, I didn’t even think to pray.”

 

Sound familiar?

 

Maybe you are like me and sometimes you don’t know what to pray.

or

Maybe you pray but it’s more like a list of “God, please do this for me….” instead of an actual connection with the Holy One.

 

Don’t feel like you are doomed because your prayer life is lacking.  Thankfully, with Jesus, there is always hope.

churchpic

Recently, we held a women’s prayer breakfast at church. We had the amazing opportunity to study God’s Word to see what He says about prayer.  We shared our own personal “prayer journeys” in hopes of encouraging one another and growing in our own prayer lives. Through our walk through scripture, we were reminded how privileged we are to be able to pray to our Father, to come to Him in praise and in need.

 

In his book, Hope for Each Day, Billy Graham writes “Prayer isn’t just asking God for something we want. Prayer should also include confession of sin and praise to God for who He is and what He has done for us. But prayer should also have an additional element, and that is thanksgiving. It is easy to be thankful when God blesses us with something good. But the Bible says that we should “give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for us in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessolonians 5:18). Thankfulness drives away a sour or prideful spirit.”

So, today, I’d like to encourage you to strengthen your prayer life.  If you are happy with your prayer life, wonderful!  Share with us what works for you.  If you need to improve your prayer life,  push aside your frustrations with your prayer life and start fresh.  I have created a 40 day Scripture Writing Plan to help guide you on your journey.

40-day-scripture-writing-plan-prayer

 

I encourage you to get a notebook and copy the scripture listed each day.  Pray over the scripture or pray the scripture. Each verse is short and shouldn’t take more than 15 minutes.  My prayer is that this will encourage you and enhance your prayer life.

 

One thought on “Got Prayer?

Leave a Reply

